Monica-xx
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi guys! I'm really stuck on deciding which of the two unis to put as my firm and insurance choice out of De Montfort and Roehampton. Btw I'm studying Criminology. I really like both of them, I came up with a list about each one but still can't decide.

De Montfort:
. Want 260 points
. Course is Criminology and Criminal Justice with Psychology (so learn more I guess?)
. Accommodation is cheap (between £100 and £134) and looks nice
. Brother already been there, my cousin goes there now
. All the way in Leicester (2 - 2.5 hours by car, imagine longer by train)

Roehampton:
. Want 280 points (more than DMU)
. Course is Criminology
. Accommodation is nice too but a little more (prices £135-136)
. Campus looks gorgeous (trees, nature, lakes etc.) and is big
. Near Richmond (1 hour 20 - 30 mins away by train, less by car), still easy to get to London

I think the only main issue for me is how far DMU is and also for Roehampton the entry requirements are higher. Anyone who has been to any of these unis feel free to comment. Others, which would you choose? Has anyone else applied to any of these unis?
De Montfort University
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Hello!

My name is Matt and I currently work at DMU, although I am a recent graduate from University of Leicester. From reading your post, I can see that a big decision for you is distance from where you currently are. When I was studying, I had a few friends who came from London, they took the train and they always said the journey was fine, with it mostly taking around an hour and a half, but of course this depends on the connection and whether it is a fast train or not for example. In my experience, I was travelling via the train and it took about an hour, which was a comfortable journey, but of course, this is slightly shorter than the distance you would travel.