Advice on going into accounting Watch

jenniv93
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Looking for a bit of advice in how to get into accounting. I am currently in my last year of studying Business management at uni. I chose the course because I've always been interested in business but not been sure what area i want to go into. I've recently become more interested in accounting which my course has only briefly touched upon.

i am helping out my boyfriends dad with his accounts for a bit of experience as he has his own business and i am now looking for advise on the best way to become an accountant. I have seen lots on getting an AAT 2 and 3 diploma but have also seen a lot of other things and was wondering if this is the best way after finishing my degree.

I'm also looking to do this through home learning as got bills to pay so need to work along side so i am also looking for recommendations of the best home learning courses and providers- and if they offer student finance in the same way as universities.

Thanks for all of your help
Weirdfishes
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Hi Jenniv93, I'm studying AAT level 4 at college.
If you go to Kaplan.co.uk, they offer the AAT and other accounting qualifications. If you select AAT and then distance learning, which is home learning, or contact them directly they should help you.
Also, have a look at graduate schemes at PWC, Deloitte, KPMG, Ernst Young, Macintyre Hudson and Grant Thornton. They give you a full time job and study leave. I don't know if you study AAT first or go straight to professional qualification but either way, it's the best possible start for a career in accountancy
According to Pete
  • TSR Group Staff
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by jenniv93)