Minimum rest between shifts in retail Watch

phil2
Badges: 5
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I work in a shop and just wondered what the minimum rest is, on one day im in 12.30-9.30 then the day after 7-1.30
J-SP
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
If you work over 6 hours a day, you are entitled to 20 mins.

Posted from TSR Mobile
phil2
Oh yeah i know that but this one im wondering is minimum rest between shifts?
EleanorFrost
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by phil2)
I think it's 11 hours, but don't quote me on that.
UPSDGoat
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I thought it was 8 hours but according to this it's 11
https://www.gov.uk/rest-breaks-work/overview

Posted from TSR Mobile
J-SP
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by phil2)
Eleven hours then.

Posted from TSR Mobile
phil2
So if im working till 9.30 one evening then im in at 7 the day after, not 11 hours, thats illegal? Always do it at work, most work till 8.30 and are in at 6!
J-SP
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by phil2)
So if im working till 9.30 one evening then im in at 7 the day after, not 11 hours, thats illegal? Always do it at work, most work till 8.30 and are in at 6!
Depends. If you are volunteering/agreeing to do it, then it isn't as clear cut as it being "illegal". If everyone's shift patterns suggest that no one has 11 or more hours break between shifts, then I suspect they have made you all sign a waiver.

Did you sign anything that would opt you out of the Working Time Regulations?

Posted from TSR Mobile
phil2
not that i can remember, i may menchen it just to see in a nice way, dont volunteer
J-SP
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by phil2)
not that i can remember, i may menchen it just to see in a nice way, dont volunteer
I would check your employment contract and any other documents you signed when you agreed to take on the job. Do you really have an issue with it being less than 11 hours between shifts?
lyrical_lie
Badges: 16
Rep:
?