Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

I'm a mature student applying to medical school for 2015. I've got a BA 2:1 Hons degree and three A-levels etc. I am currently studying towards my AS-level in Biology and Chemistry in June which would take my UCAS Tariff to 450. If I take the full A-level, my predicted tariff would be between 530 - 570.

My question is this. Once you've taken the UKCAT & GAMSAT etc, how does your degree affect your tariff score? The university I really want to go to has started interviewing and I find all the posts about tariffs + UKCAT scores so confusing if you also have a degree.

Does any one have any pearls or experience they could shed light with?

Thanks and good luck to all,
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Ed Erasmus)
    Hello all,

I'm a mature student applying to medical school for 2015. I've got a BA 2:1 Hons degree and three A-levels etc. I am currently studying towards my AS-level in Biology and Chemistry in June which would take my UCAS Tariff to 450. If I take the full A-level, my predicted tariff would be between 530 - 570.

My question is this. Once you've taken the UKCAT & GAMSAT etc, how does your degree affect your tariff score? The university I really want to go to has started interviewing and I find all the posts about tariffs + UKCAT scores so confusing if you also have a degree.

Does any one have any pearls or experience they could shed light with?

Thanks and good luck to all,
    Graduate entry doesn't use tariffs. It's based on your degree, (to some extent) your a levels and (a few use) gcses plus ukcat/bmat/gamsat as applicable.

If you have a degree you're classed as a graduate applicant not a mature applicant btw and this has funding implications.

Deadline for applications for starting the following September is always October 15.