Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is it bad to graduate uni then choose to go into an apprenticeship? Watch

ReputationRep:
    My degree is a vocational degree in building surveying, lots of the graduate roles are oversubscribed to and make you do all sorts of psychometric tests, and end up in a boring office job earning little over 20k.

There's an apprenticeship in railway engineering for the Metro system here open and starts in September, it's a year and a half of college followed by a hear and a half working the job as an apprentice, then you're guaranteed a job at the end as either a track engineer, signal engineer, or buildings and infrastructure worker. These sound way more interesting to me as a career as I've always been interested in railways but the apprenticeship only pays 8k a year and eventually goes up to a better wage once done.

I'd feel like I'd wasted uni money because I could have done this apprenticeship four years ago but at the same time I have zero interest in the career the degree relates to and it never hurts to have one under the belt for moving up the company in the future right?

I'm totally stuck on this decision, at the minute I'm thinking of applying and I can always turn it down if I do change my mind on it.

Help!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Nothing wrong with applying for it. As you've said, you can turn it down if you change your mind.

Only thing to be aware of is that a lot of apprenticeships won't take applicants with a degree as they won't get the government funding. As long as you've checked this and it's not the case in this situation you may as well go for it.

ReputationRep:
    Why would you demean yourself by working for 8k a year? Especially when you have a degree.

Hell, how do you even survive on 8k a year in the UK??

ReputationRep:
    Not at all. I have had a number of graduates on apprenticeship programmes I have had responsibility for.