Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Throwing in the towel watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I have almost completed my first semester in my first year after embarking on a degree in International Politics and Conflict studies. I started off with such good momentum and spent alot of time in the library, determined to impressed myself.
    But about halfway through I realised that no matter how hard I was working and how strict my routine was, I was always a bit behind and I found that I was bored alot of the time. Every time I caught myself doing something other than studying, I would feel guilty, and every time I studied, I felt like I was wasting my time. So after I handed in my coursework, I didn't do any work (apart from going to lectures and taking notes) and so far, I still haven't regained motivation.
    That's when I started questioning why I came to uni to start off with... and what I will get from a degree anyway.
    I came back early from Christmas Holidays to do a spot of revision before the exams but so far I have done less than a half hour of half assed note reading after being back for 2 days so far. I have lost all momentum and I am considering leaving uni and was wondering if this was part and parcel of being at university? does everyone get this sort of whiplash effect? and how do you pick yourself up?
    and advice much appreciated.
    Thanks,

A bewildered student

ReputationRep:
    I know your feeling, last year I work solid and got really stressed. This year since starting year 2, I lacked motivation and it is hard to crack. Keep going it's worth it. A couple of hours revising is better than none and don't over work yourself. Do your best but give yourself down time.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: