The Student Room Group

MRes with 2.2 undergrad

Hello everyone,

I'm in my third year of Biochemistry in York and my marks aren't so great whatsoever. I'm working on improving them but I'm worried about my career perspectives having a 2.2. My original plan was doing a MRes somewhere in London but I'm aware that it's unrealistic at the moment.

Second year marks are 40% of my degree mark so I would need something like an average of 65 this year to make it up to a 2.1 and I'm not sure I'll be able to make it (and yet I would only have a 2.1!). I do have some research experience (a summer internship and took part in a synthetic biology competition twice during my degree).

Any advice or experiences on the matter? What can I do if I don't find a master at all?
I'm pretty much worried so any help is welcome.
Thanks.
(edited 9 years ago)
That's okay. My advice is not to worry too much about the end result and just do your best with your third year assignments and exams. Don't think ahead too much, there will be some time after your exams to apply for masters degrees. As long as you are organised, and do a certain number of hours of work per week, you will be fine.
Original post by Ric_94
Hello everyone,

I'm in my third year of Biochemistry in York and my marks aren't so great whatsoever. I'm working on improving them but I'm worried about my career perspectives having a 2.2. My original plan was doing a MRes somewhere in London but I'm aware that it's unrealistic at the moment.

Second year marks are 40% of my degree mark so I would need something like an average of 65 this year to make it up to a 2.1 and I'm not sure I'll be able to make it (and yet I would only have a 2.1!). I do have some research experience (a summer internship and took part in a synthetic biology competition twice during my degree).

Any advice or experiences on the matter? What can I do if I don't find a master at all?
I'm pretty much worried so any help is welcome.
Thanks.