Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What car to get? Almost 20 and want to drive for the first time Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey all!

I'm almost turning 20 this month i passed my driving practical in the summer of 2013. So i've almost held my license for 2 years now without doing anything with it.

I'm currently a second year University student and I really want to drive soon.

I was wondering what car should I get as my first? My budget for the car is around ~£1500 max. I don't want to spend anymore as its only my first car.

For the insurance, i've checked out a ford KA 1.3 as an example and it came out to be 1.3k for 10 months (the year) quoted by tiger rinsurance. Is that expensive at all? I have no knowledge of insurance and how it works and stuff :/

I earn about £250-£300 from my part-time job each month so I could technically afford the insurance.

Any insight how to drive cheaply and about the car business (what are good cars, what are not etc) would be great!

Many thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Go for a car in a lower insurance group that isn't involved in a lot of crashes. If you go with a common car that is involved in a lot of crashes then this can cause your insurance premium to be higher. When it comes to your first car, unless you have money to splash, you really want to be investing in something that keeps your premium down.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Das Auto)
    Go for a car in a lower insurance group that isn't involved in a lot of crashes. If you go with a common car that is involved in a lot of crashes then this can cause your insurance premium to be higher. When it comes to your first car, unless you have money to splash, you really want to be investing in something that keeps your premium down.
    thanks for the reply

are a ford KA or a peugeot 206 common cars invovled in a lot of crashes?