Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Why are trains so expensive? I can't travel to see my friend. Watch

ReputationRep:
    I live in Sheffield. To travel from Sheffield to London on train is £90.

I'm a student and can't afford £90 to see my friend for a few days over the holiday.

Why is it cheaper to fly from UK to most European cities than it is to take a train from Sheffield to London?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Uncouth body)

I'm a student and can't afford £90 to see my friend for a few days over the holiday.

Why is it cheaper to fly from UK to most European cities than it is to take a train from Sheffield to London?
    When are you travelling? And do you have a railcard? That would make it cheaper and it's a lot cheaper booking in advance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by G8D)
    £10-14 each way.

Book in advance ya dingus.
    Really? Show me. I tried to book in advance book I got very awkward times. Leaving at midnight. Returning at 1AM in the morning...

ReputationRep:
    MegaBus - £5

ReputationRep:
    Book in advance always and get a railcard.

The 16-25 railcard has saved me fortunes.

ReputationRep:
    http://ojp.nationalrail.co.uk/servic...80315/1830/dep
    (typical weekend trip, 2 months in advance without a railcard, costs that much)

ReputationRep:
    Yeah megabus is the cheapest option

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Get a coach?

ReputationRep:
    Train fares are ridiculous; some of the most expensive in Europe. That said, the service and quality of trains is better than in some countries.

Getting a young persons rail card has saved me so much money over the years, well worth it.

ReputationRep:
    Maybe go on the Megabus

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tengentoppa)
    Get a coach?
    Someone to coach him on finding better train prices? That actually seems like a good idea.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Uncouth body)