Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Opinions on going straight into private halls for first year? I'm accepted a place at Bournemouth University for September and was wondering if anyone has any experience of not going into halls for their accommodation?

As a gap year student, I'm looking at saving minimum £200 per fortnight from now till August, so how much roughly would did you pay for rent and also would a private landlord or company be easier?

Hi Dale_B_1996,

Congratulations on your offer! Bournemouth is a great uni and I have really enjoyed my time here so far!!

I am in currently in my first year of studying marketing communications at BU and I am living in the student village, which costs £106.88 per week, and I then usually spend £30 on food and another £30 on nights out! The student village is the cheapest accommodation offered by BU and it's literally next door to the whole of the Talbot campus, including the library and the 24 hour computer suite! One of my housemates saved money by not buying a laptop before uni as she knew she would be living in the student village and would have 24 hour access to computers and printers.

Another great advantage of being housed by the uni is that you will be housed with like-minded people who share similar interests based upon personality tests that you can take! Have you already arranged to live with others, or would you need to find other students? There are plenty of days where you can find housemates and houses together, you can also use social media to find people who you might want to live with.