Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Welcome Squad
    Hello :cookie:

Okay, I've recently been considering doing a Chemistry degree but I lack certain A-Levels including Maths.

I'm currently studying Chemistry, Biology, Psychology and History so I can apply for other universities (excluding Imperial since they require Maths at A-Level for all their Chemistry courses) such as Queen Mary's, UCL and Kings College London

But I've been thinking of doing something along these lines to boost my chances and widen doors to other Universities

A) Taking a gap year after doing A2 (I'm currently doing AS) and taking additional A-Levels (AS Maths, AS Physics, AS Geography and something else?) during that gap year at a college or another sixth form (or if possible at the same sixth form I currently am studying at if they allow me) - ONLY RISK IS THAT I'M WORRIED I'LL FORGET WHAT I LEARN AT AS AND A2

EDIT - In the case of Option A, I won't be able to study A2 Maths since I won't have AS Maths to begin with so I'll probably carry A2 Psychology instead

B) Retaking Year 12 but not carrying the current A-Levels I'm studying (Chemistry, Biology, Psychology and History - obviously I'll have my AS results) and taking AS Physics, AS Maths, AS Geography and possibly another AS during that year and then taking A2 Chemistry, A2 Biology and A2 Maths in Year 13 - ONLY RISK IS THAT I'M WORRIED I'LL FORGET WHAT I LEARN AT AS WHICH MEANS I'LL STRUGGLE WITH A2 BIOLOGY AND A2 CHEMISTRY

EDIT - Option B will mean I will have AS Maths so I can carry Maths to A2. I might also consider taking Psychology or Geography (if I do Geography) at A2 as well so I'll have 4 complete A-Levels]

Any suggestions?

And the more important question is that is it worth the struggle? Is taking more A-Levels worth it or not in my situation?
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Welcome Squad
    :cookie:

Can someone advise? :cry2: