Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Hello. I'm a GCSE performing Arts student and I'm really stuck on a task I got yesterday.

I have to write a monologue. Upon the theme of running away. You can be any character: teacher, parent, friend sister. I want to do something creative but my brain seems dead. Instead of plain running away from home.

What else can I do? Realistic but not obvious.

Thank you for your help!

P.S: I only got the task, but it has to be written, 2 minuets, and learnt in two days.

UPDATE: I just had an idea! What about having a friend run away, not run away from home, but like a best friend running away from... Friendship kind of thing?

I didn't do this task (different exam board I guess) but here are some ideas anyway:
    It is done a lot, but the subject of mental health is always interesting, so the idea of a schizophrenic person 'running away' from reality would work.
    Obviously the idea of running away from home is a bit boring, but you could always play on it with someone running away from bullies or something like that.
    You could even write a monologue about someone who has run away, but from someone else's perspective, like a parent or a friend (or an enemy?)
    Hope this helped :-)

Hiya, I didn't personally do this task myself whilst studying Drama but I'd like offer you some advice

When I read the theme 'running away' the first thing that came to mind was a runner who runs professionally - perhaps running could act as a way for them to detach their self from reality; the motivation behind this could possibly be to escape pain, etc.

A major problem that my class struggled with was not being able to look for alternate meaning - looking at running away in a more complex, evocative way. Start to look outside the literal meaning and I'm sure you'll find some ingenious ideas
How are you feeling about your exams?