Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I am currently an undergraduate International Relations and Legal Studies student at the University of Aberdeen. I enjoy it immensely. However, my parents are constantly trying to convince me that I will not be able to find a job with a degree in IR and that I should just switch to a degree in LLB instead.

Frankly, these constant talks are getting me a little (very) scared and annoyed. What are your thoughts on this? Should I do as my parents wish?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    Nonsense. I did a politics degree and had no trouble finding a job afterwards because I got relevant work experience during my degree

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    What kind of work experience did you get, if I may ask? How'd you find it?

Don't answer if you do not want to.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DisappointedD)
    What kind of work experience did you get, if I may ask? How'd you find it?

Don't answer if you do not want to.
    I won't go into specifics, as that would make me highly identifiable.

However, I found the work experience via my university. I just took the job as a route to extra money, but it turned out that I quite liked it after all, and so I stayed in the same sector.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I am currently an undergraduate International Relations and Legal Studies student at the University of Aberdeen. I enjoy it immensely. However, my parents are constantly trying to convince me that I will not be able to find a job with a degree in IR and that I should just switch to a degree in LLB instead.

Frankly, these constant talks are getting me a little (very) scared and annoyed. What are your thoughts on this? Should I do as my parents wish?