Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I am an international student and I just got an offer for the MSc Economics Programme at Southampton. I wanted to get reviews and any details about the course because on the website the course structure looks pretty nice.
    My main aim is to get into a well reputed PhD Programme in Europe/US after this.

I also liked the SGPE offered by Edinburgh. How would you rate it?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by econtish)
    Hi!

I am an international student and I just got an offer for the MSc Economics Programme at Southampton. I wanted to get reviews and any details about the course because on the website the course structure looks pretty nice.
    My main aim is to get into a well reputed PhD Programme in Europe/US after this.

I also liked the SGPE offered by Edinburgh. How would you rate it?
    I would strongly advise to choose Southampton’s MSc Economics and Econometrics programme if you’re look to enter a top PhD programme in Europe/the US. The course is far more rigorous in terms of mathematical preparation, which is key for a PhD programme. Additionally, the academics at Southampton have for the most part attended US universities themselves (Penn, Rochetester, Northwestern, Minnesota, Boston and UCLA) with plenty coming from top European universities (LSE, UCL, PSE, Stockholm, Pompeu Fabra, Louvain and Carlos III), so they can provide strong and reliable letters of recommendation which is necessary for PhD applications. Added to that, the lecturer for Econometrics 2 (second semester, asymptotic theory course) is the protégé of Peter C B Phillips, the world’s leading time-series econometrician, and Peter visits Southampton every summer to do research.