Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Please forgive me if I'm doing something wrong as this is my first post.

My question is- what type of person is good enough for Oxford?

I ask because I found a course at Oxford that really appeals to me, the "Bachelor of Mathematics and Philosophy". I love puzzles and riddles, mathematics and asking tough questions. However my main fear is that I don't know, on the slim chance I do get in, if I'm going to be surrounded by mathematical geniuses with IQ's 160+ while I struggle with my IQ 134. Help, please? Will I fit in in that course? Will I be able to actually get into Oxford?

I am currently in my final year of high school in Australia, FYI. Thanks for the help!

ReputationRep:
    The part when you said you'll struggle with a 134 IQ seems weird. You'll get in based on your academic record, personal statement, reference, MAT and Interviews. Maybe you can't control the academic record much if you apply this year, but you are in control of the MAT, the interviews and the PS(although it is less important), so make sure these will shine.

if you get in it means that the tutors believe you can cope.

ReputationRep:
    If the course appeals to you and you've got good grades, then I think it's worth applying. If you get an offer then the admissions tutors must think you'd be able to cope with the workload, because they look at every application in a lot of detail. Good luck if you do decide to apply

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Addison.8)
    Hi all,

Please forgive me if I'm doing something wrong as this is my first post.

My question is- what type of person is good enough for Oxford?