Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I've been diagnosed with glandular fever on the 2nd January.. I think I've had it for a while though because I've had the symptoms since November.
    Ive just finished a course of antibiotics because my tonsils were really swollen, so now I'm generally feeling ok.

My doctor told me to avoid drinking alcohol, but does anyone know for how long?

Im currently in my first year at uni and not drinking alcohol is pretty much impossible most of the time seen as everyone else is going out and drinking.

Thanks for any advice guys

ReputationRep:
    I have also been diagnosed with glandular fever since just before Christmas but it started in November. If your doctor has told you to avoid drinking you definitely need to listen to them. In my case she said my liver function was very poor and it cannot handle any alcohol so your doctor will have also noticed your liver function affected by the disease otherwise they wouldn't have given such advice and such advice wouldn't have been given if it wasn't important. Apparently when you drink alcohol with an inflamed liver you can permanently scar it and it will also make your symptoms bite back like a b*tch making you feel quite crap the next few days. honestly I don't think its worth the risk either drink and put your liver at risk of long term damage or just stay sober for a few month to let it recover asap. Doctors should be getting you to have regular blood tests and will tell you how well and fast your liver is improving. Just stay safe and don't go over board no good will come from it and it puts you at risk of being ill for longer!

ReputationRep:
    I agree with the poster above. I had my liver function tested again before I drank alcohol again.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep: