Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

My GCSE's are looking to be a shambles thanks to ill health, now what? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I'm in my final year of school and due to ill health my GCSE's won't be half as good as I was predicted originally, perhaps not enough to make the cut. My dream is to become a midwife, something I've always had great interest in. At the beginning of Year 10 I was predicted A-A* throughout all my subjects, until my mental health (I have Schizophrenia) and physical health deteriorated (back in April).

I would ideally like to study Level 3 Health and Social care, of which then leads me into higher education and eligible for a University place. However, my problem is physically getting on the course at a college!

To my understanding of much research, the course requires a minimum of 4 GCSE's graded A*-C. And, as I wish to be a midwife, I believe a minimum of C grade Science is required. I'm not confident I'll make the great, that's me being realistic, not doubting my skills. I know my health is a big issue and has effected me a great deal.

I am currently in the process of discovering why I am vomiting blood, why my urine is always bright red and why I have such consistent joint pains. These physical problems have lead me to a vast amount of time off school and my grades have been effected. In addition to the time off school, studying on my own accord has proved to be a challenge due to being in and out of a hospital ward all the time and being in too much agonizing pain to do anything like get out of bed, let alone pick up a text book. My doctors believe this is a rare immunity disorder but cannot treat it unless 100% sure as treatment is vastly invasive, ranging from Chemotherapy to vascular drugs.