Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    i know this is probably the most cliche and oft-repeated question that's been asked on this site, but i've basically got a problem. my GCSEs are far below average - A* for English, and English Lit. A for Bio, Math, and ICT. Bs for Statistics, Chemistry and Physics - my boyfriend had passed away at the time, but I can't get a letter of special circumstance as he was not directly related to me. I know these results aren't anywhere close to what a good British student gets.

For A-Levels, I've got A*AA*A predictions at English Lit, Economics, Psychology and Mathematics respectively.

I'd like to do English at a good uni, not Oxbridge, but perhaps Durham, or Exeter.
    I'm an international student - which I'm not sure whether it works in my favour or otherwise.

Anyhow - what are my chances of getting into one of the top unis (Durham/Warwick/Exeter) with such tame GCSEs.

Could I hope?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jade Shah)
    i know this is probably the most cliche and oft-repeated question that's been asked on this site, but i've basically got a problem. my GCSEs are far below average - A* for English, and English Lit. A for Bio, Math, and ICT. Bs for Statistics, Chemistry and Physics - my boyfriend had passed away at the time, but I can't get a letter of special circumstance as he was not directly related to me. I know these results aren't anywhere close to what a good British student gets.

For A-Levels, I've got A*AA*A predictions at English Lit, Economics, Psychology and Mathematics respectively.

I'd like to do English at a good uni, not Oxbridge, but perhaps Durham, or Exeter.
    I'm an international student - which I'm not sure whether it works in my favour or otherwise.

Anyhow - what are my chances of getting into one of the top unis (Durham/Warwick/Exeter) with such tame GCSEs.

Could I hope?