Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Summer 2015 - what to do? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey, amidst exam time I am currently thinking about what to do during summer.
    I am studying Mechanical Engineering, first year and I'll only be available in august&september, june and july I've reserved for family time.
    My colleagues pointed out that employers hardly ever take first years since we are less experienced (for internships).
    Any suggestions on what I could do?
    I was thinking about doing one of those 8-day-volunteering-somewhere-in-asia things, but is it really worth it?
    I would also have an opportunity to work at my dads civil engineering office - but wouldn't employers just think that I got this position not due to my skills but due to family?
    Or should I just look into short-term part-time jobs?

Any advice/ideas on what I could do?
    I would love to do something concerning mechanical engineering, but would that be even possible with only 8 weeks availability?

Thank you in advance!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MEng_Student)
    Hey, amidst exam time I am currently thinking about what to do during summer.
    I am studying Mechanical Engineering, first year and I'll only be available in august&september, june and july I've reserved for family time.
    My colleagues pointed out that employers hardly ever take first years since we are less experienced (for internships).
    Any suggestions on what I could do?
    I was thinking about doing one of those 8-day-volunteering-somewhere-in-asia things, but is it really worth it?
    I would also have an opportunity to work at my dads civil engineering office - but wouldn't employers just think that I got this position not due to my skills but due to family?
    Or should I just look into short-term part-time jobs?

Any advice/ideas on what I could do?