Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone! New here to TSR, and I'm looking for some answers to a few questions I have about UK university. So to start off, I am a natural born UK citizen, but I've been living in the US for quite a long time now. I'm currently in my first semester of university here in the United States, but I'm hating it for personal reasons. So I've been looking into maybe going to university in the UK instead. So, now for my questions.

Since I am a UK citizen, with all the appropriate documents, would I count as an overseas student or not? If that's a yes, to become a regular applicant, I would just have to move back to the UK and prove residency?

Secondly, all my schooling has been completed in the US. If I was to apply to a UK university, how would that work? And would I be better off taking GCSE's and/or A-Levels instead (especially since I never took IB in the US)?

Lastly, if the best option is to take my GCSE's/A-Levels, how would I go about doing that, since the time to do them traditionally has obviously passed.

Thanks in advance!

-S
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    To be a UK student for fees purposes you need to have been resident in the UK or EU for 3 years prior to the start of your course.

In terms of qualifications most UK unis prefer US applicants to have APs in relevant subjects - you should be able to find more details on the websites of the unis you're interested in. Some may accept you US uni study as a substitute.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PQ)
    To be a UK student for fees purposes you need to have been resident in the UK or EU for 3 years prior to the start of your course.