mimichan
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hello! This is my first thread! I am currently in my last year for GCSE's
and I am applying for college soon but unlike others I don't really have a career aspiration for the future , all I know is that I want to go to university.
I am more creative than academic but I know that universities prefer academic subjects so I want a good mix - the a-levels I want to take are
Photography,Art,History and Sociology

is this a good choice or not?
JuliaM1998
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I've heard that top unis don't really count arts as A levels so to do three a levels you'd have to do either art or photography and then do another academic instead
Walt_14
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
History and Sociology (particularly the former) are fine, but your first two choices may well hold you back if you're thinking of applying to Russell Group universities. The choice is yours, of course, but I reckon it'd be best if you substitute them with English Literature and something else, possibly along the lines of Chemistry/Maths to show you've an analytic mind. Or Government & Politics, whatever.
Frannoooooooo
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by JuliaM1998)
I've heard that top unis don't really count arts as A levels so to do three a levels you'd have to do either art or photography and then do another academic instead
What do you mean by arts?
CameronE
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
I would say history, art, english (literature more so over language as you are a more creative type of person) and one of your other selections would be a respectful combination.

Posted from TSR Mobile
JuliaM1998
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Frannoooooooo)
What do you mean by arts?
Like Drama, Art, Photography, Music, Theatre Studies like creative subjects. That'll vary from uni to uni though so maybe see where you want to go and see if they count for as much as academic subjects
tcameron