Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I want to do physics at Oxford. I got 7 A*s at GCSE and am currently doing A-Levels in maths, further maths, physics and computing. The trouble is that computing is not going well because I am not good at the coursework, and I think that the highest grade I could get at AS would be a B. I can easily get As in the others, so I am not worried about those. I am planning to drop computing at the end of this year, but I am worried about Oxford.
    1) would AAAB at AS be enough for an interview, provided I scored well in the PAT exam and the rest of my application was good enough?
    2) are 3 A-Levels in physics, maths and further maths enough, or do I need 4 A Levels to be considered? I do a lot of extra reading around my subjects and am planning to strengthen my application in other areas.
    I am just wondering if a B in AS computing and only 3 A Levels will hold me back at all. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    In response to 1: by far the most important aspect of an application to Physics is your score on the PAT. A high PAT score will more than make up for a B at AS.

As for 2, I'm afraid I don't know, sorry.

ReputationRep:
    Their standard offer is 3 a-levels and because all three of yours are their essential/preferred choices then it will not hold you back at all. Physics at Oxford is very competitive - this year I know people who had applied for physics and recieved an email, encouraging them to consider materials science due to the high competition. If you have a very good application and high PAT score however, I'm sure you will be invited for interview. Just focus on gaining the As this year and then preparing for the PAT as early as possible as there is some content on the syllabus that is not covered in physics a level (e.g. Phases of the moon) and you will therefore need to teach yourself.