Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Greetings everyone,

First of all I hope I'm posting this in the right subforum (if that's what they are called, English is not my first language). I'm looking for some advice on a current issue I'm having right now.

I am currently studying industrial engineering in Spain, and am having emotional issues coping with what I'm studying. I have started my second semester, meaning I'm halfway through my first year. I have never studied so much before, I spent most of my days (including weekends) from 9-20 hours working; the work load is quite heavy.

I was able to get used to sleeping less and working more than before so my physical state was not really a problem. But I have been having quite a few emotional issues regarding this choice.

I really do not enjoy too much what I'm doing, but it seems like everyone tells me "the third year gets better". I have never had any trouble coping emotionally with the changes I had to make to my life in school, but it seems uni was just a bit too much. The last two months I lost appetite, some days just eating breakfast, in general no dinner. I have cried a few times probably out of pure stress and distress (boys cry too ) just in general about what I have gotten myself into.

The main issue I have is that I don't know if what I'm doing is something I'd like. I'm putting so much time, effort, sweat and tears into this that if it's something in the end that I won't like it would feel like I wasted at least four years of my life. I have talked about this with my parents but it seems they believe I'm making the right thing studying engineering, because if I didn't study science I would be "throwing my intelligence to waste".