Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How to overcome and master anxiety, depression and loneliness (For In/Extroverts) Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I've been studying at Uni for a few months and I thought I'd give my advice to anyone who feels like they haven't made any friends, has been sad or depressed and basically isn't enjoying Uni life.

So a little bit about why I think I've got the right to talk about this topic...

- Living with all third year girls who are a very close knit group (I'm the only lad)
    - Switched courses after a month, which made me an outsider to new course students
    - Seen doctors/therapists to discuss my depression and anxiety attacks
    - Not afraid to openly amid I was once depressed
    - Would shy away from social interaction and lock myself in my room
    - Have had days on end thinking about suicide and running away

If you do these 5 things I am sure that you will feel much better about yourself and will probably begin to enjoy not just uni life more but life all together.

1. YOU MATTER!!! - Understand that if you're in a room with 1 or 100 people you matter just as much as anyone else in there. All of your thoughts, ambitions, goals matter just as much as anyone else's. If you tell yourself this over and over and over and over again you will believe it and begin to develop self worth. This is the beginning to unlocking the goldmine in between your ears. Your thoughts are the only thing that make you unique so work on them, develop them until you can help but be positive. This will naturally uplift those around you and you'll shine as you were made to.