Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Currently training to be an electrical engineer at a large company. I am an apprentice, 19 years old. Currently on 20k per year, will raise slowly to 40k per year but then after that only rise with inflation. I hope to be on 40k by about 28/29

there are no means of progression in this company and to be honest I do not enjoy engineering, I just started for the money.

I am currently considering whether or not to go back to education. I currently study a HNC in engineering. I want to leave my job and go back to do an access course and get on a business/entrepreneurship degree at a good university. I have really good GCSE's and went to a good grammar school so feel I am capable of doing this. The reason I want to go to university is because I want a professional job where I can wear a suit and tie. I want to earn lots of money, make lots of friends and have good networking potential. I also feel that I am missing out on being young by not being at university. I don't get the options to go out partying and enjoy myself like my friends at uni

Only problem being I would be walking away from a future 40k per year job (which I don't enjoy) and I will have to work rubbish part time jobs during my access course as there is no funding available for access students.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lewif002)
    The reason I want to go to university is because I want a professional job where I can wear a suit and tie. I want to earn lots of money, make lots of friends and have good networking potential.
    I spent 20+ years in a job like that. I wore smart clothes. I earned a lot of money. I hated every minute of it. My brother's a plumber and he's always earned more than me. Lives in a big house in a nice area of town, where I could never afford anything more than a flat in a crummy area.