Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I am interested in a career in Civil Engineering, my local university has a HND course which requires 120 UCAS points (maths) and a C grade in English. I am currently study maths and if I pass I hope to apply next year, I will then want to progress onto the final year of the BSCs degree.

I have a few questions

Has anyone completed a HND and can explain how they found it and if it was easy or hard to go into industry?

Is it more beneficial to go into industry after I complete the HND and get experience and then sit the final year?

What happens if you do crap during your HND, obviously it is going to be hard to find work and you would probably not be allowed onto the BSCs year?

Would work involve working away from home a lot of the time?

I wish to work abroad when I have a few years experience, would learning a language be beneficial?

Hong many years in average does it take to become chartered?

And finally can anyone share advice on what helps to become a successful civil engineer?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mauritius99)
    Hi

I am interested in a career in Civil Engineering, my local university has a HND course which requires 120 UCAS points (maths) and a C grade in English. I am currently study maths and if I pass I hope to apply next year, I will then want to progress onto the final year of the BSCs degree.

I have a few questions

Has anyone completed a HND and can explain how they found it and if it was easy or hard to go into industry?

Is it more beneficial to go into industry after I complete the HND and get experience and then sit the final year?

What happens if you do crap during your HND, obviously it is going to be hard to find work and you would probably not be allowed onto the BSCs year?

Would work involve working away from home a lot of the time?