Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, basically I'm currently studying for A2s, and I've applied to study physics/natsci (phys), with offers from cambridge, manchester, bristol, and cardiff, with an interview at imperial on wednesday.
    My problem is, after not applying for deferred placements at any, i now want to take a gap year.
    so, i need some advice, is this generally allowed? and how would i go about letting the unis know/asking if theyll let me?

as a side note, aside from maintaining my maths slightly and keeping up my reading around the subject, i have very little intention of doing anything remotely academic during my gap year, the vague plan is work-travel-work-travel-uni but thats undecided. should i think of some academic stuff to do/say ill do during my gap year that may make them more likely to say yes?

any answers/advice/thoughts/abuse welcomed, cheers guys x

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by joedoubleds)
    Thoughts are that Cambridge are unlikely to be particularly happy with that plan. They're particularly hot on preferring Maths candidates to go straight away so I wouldn't be too surprised if they're a little nervous about a physical NatSci being out of it for a year. They do state in the case of engineering they think it can be an advantage to take a year out if you spend it doing a placement. I also suspect Imperial may have similar concerns. What college is your offer from? Some of them have less neutral stances on it than others, and some may be swayed if you can provide enough evidence that suggests you won't be disadvantaging yourself.