Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I'm thinking I'd like to study theoretical physics, as a hobby. I studied it up to the first year at Cambridge and am now in my 40s, semi-retired, living in London. I'm interested in it because it's deep, and because I believe that you have to use your brain, even if you don't need to use it to earn a living.

Any ideas for any courses? I thought of the Open University but I think their courses might be too basic - they don't seem to have any postgrad physics courses and their undergrad course doesn't even seem to touch on general relativity. Could I do a part time masters at a London University? If so what course(s) would you recommend? Ideally it would be good to have the flexibility to study when I want, because I like going off travelling, which is why I thought of the Open University, but perhaps I would have to forego this.

Grateful for any advice!

You cant really do a proper physics masters without a strong undergrad mathematics/physics background, which you may not have if you only done a single year of study. Can you remember basic mathematics from 20 years ago (e.g. do you still know how to solve partial differential equations, do fourier analysis, linear algebra, etc?). That's going to be prerequisite stuff for any remotely serious theoretical physics masters program.

Your best bet would probably be a good undergrad degree with heavy mathematical content (possibly distance learning), followed by a Masters (eg QFFF at Imperial).