Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    By the end of this year, I will have two years' experience teaching English as a foreign language in the higher education sector. (I also volunteered for a year prior to that teaching English part-time to refugees.)

At the end of this year, I'm going to be looking for another English teaching job as I can't renew my contract at the university (due to odd labour laws in the country in which I live).

Would it be worth my while taking a CELTA before I start job-hunting, or would the fact that I have 2 years' experience in a prestigious university mean that even if a job description says they want CELTA-qualified teachers, I would still be considered? (I also have a higher degree from Oxford if that makes any difference...)

Any responses appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    I took my CELTA after teaching English in China for over a year. I found it incredibly valuable. Some of the other trainees had zero experience. Others had a year or two already under the belt. I think we all learnt something! I was able to observe lots of lessons, both from other trainees and very experienced qualified teachers. I got to teach a range of students from wildly different backgrounds, which really opened my eyes to the varied linguistic and cultural issues. I was able to get loads of feedback (OK, so this was a double edged sword, as the tutors could be incredibly picky and trainees didn't enjoy pulling each others lessons apart....then again some of the advice was gold).