Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What's wrong with my hair and how do I go about treating it? Watch

ReputationRep:
    My hair used to be really silky and smooth, for the past 5 years or so however it looks horrible. My main problem is that I am a novice when it comes to hair so I can't identify what the problem is, right now my hair looks kind of like Emma Watson's does in the picture below, with hair sticking out everywhere, so no matter what I do it never looks neat.

What is this? I'm sure it's not split ends, is it frizz? (I don't think it is). How do I fix it so my hair looks smooth again?

It's bothering me even more lately because everyone around me still has smooth hair, and mine looks haywire which makes me quiet self-conscious.

A bit of background:

I don't dye my hair, when I was younger I used to henna it, and I did use chemical dyes a few times but I haven't dyed it for about 5 years.

I don't use any hair products. My hair is always left open. I use straighteners, but only once or twice a week.

The two main bad things I do in terms of the way I treat my hair, are: (1) I go to sleep with wet hair a lot (2) I really roughly comb my hair, pulling it quite hard to get knots out in the mornings when I'm in a rush to get to work.

I just want to get my hair back to it's healthy state, I need advice on how to do this. I've already stopped sleeping with wet hair and roughly brushing it, but what can I do to stop it looking haywire (very much like in the pic below) I know it can take a long time to fix, but I want to know how to start because at the moment I have no clue.

Thank-You.

Name:  20939249.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  51.4 KB

ReputationRep:
    Firstly when did you last have your hair cut because leaving it more than 6 months can really damage it and would cause split ends which would make your hair look like hers does in the picture