Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I start my exams at the very beginning of May and I'll be sitting for both AS and A2 modules in one go (I'm an international student so they only let us sit for them both in one go).

I made a very concrete study plan which would allow me to go over things at least three times (hopefully). But as soon as I start to study I just completely get lost in panic. I realise I'm not following my timetable which means that I'll fall behind a few days (since some topics take longer to study than as planned), which also means that I'll finish later on and will have less time for my second and third revisions of the subjects (or barely enough time at all). I start to panic that I won't have time for past papers because of the material that needs to be studied and that I'll forget everything by the time my exams arrive, and that in the end I won't get the A*A*A*-AAA I need to study Medicine and I simply cannot afford to take a gap year.

I've tried breaking it down into sub chapters to help calm myself and to do anything but I still feel paralysed with panic and fear and I feel like I'm going to throw up constantly and start to cry.

It honestly sounds ridiculous typing it out but it's affecting me in a way that, ironically, is pushing me further and further behind in my studying, so it feels like a circle of panic I can't escape.

I have no idea what to do to get out of it. Is there anything that can help?

I really understand how you feel, this was me last year. The best piece of advice I can give you is to talk to someone, particularly a teacher. They'll be able to work with you individually to help you revise whilst staying calm. I know it can be really tough to admit you're struggling, especially if you're academically able but it happens to everyone. Nobody expects you to do this alone.