Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have applied to study Sociology at Birmingham, Aston, Warwick, Leicester, and Loughborough and I have received all offers. I would really appreciate any insight into what any of these unis are like, and even better if Sociology specific information can be offered...I'm starting to feel unprepared and hopefully this can help me!

Thanks...
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    Hi there,

rather than giving you a generic sales garb, i was wondering if you had any specific questions, relating the the course? Aston or Birmingham in general. I graduated last year with a joint honours degree in psychology and sociology, so i should be able to help you.

Josh

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I study Sociology at Aston, I can say that the quality of teaching is good.Department of Sociology is small however it had been awarded a prestigious national award. I enjoy the course and find it is intellectually challenging, Please find a link with a short information about the award that the department received. I hope that helps

http://www.aston.ac.uk/about/news/re...ing-sociology/

Shemy

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Shemy1990)
    Hi

I study Sociology at Aston, I can say that the quality of teaching is good.Department of Sociology is small however it had been awarded a prestigious national award. I enjoy the course and find it is intellectually challenging, Please find a link with a short information about the award that the department received. I hope that helps

http://www.aston.ac.uk/about/news/re...ing-sociology/

Shemy
    Thank you! I just want to get real life opinions on how good the course is and the surrounding area as opposed to just believing the prospectus because there aren't really any differentials between the unis in prospectuses they all claim to be great etc..

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Aston University)
    Hi there,