Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Right now I've only done C12 so i still have a choice of what to choose between S1, M1 or D1.

I heard that D1 makes life easier in uni and I'm doing physics a level so i think that M1 will cross path with physics mechanics but I also think S1 is important and I can't decide...
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    I am studying Maths at University and I have a computer-programming-y module and it's quite similar to D1 so my first thought would be D1.

You're right in saying that doing M1 will cross paths with Physics so if you're good at that it should make M1 a bit easier, hence you get a better grade.

I can't think of why S1 would be as important as the other ones.

I'd choose D1. If you want to be really thorough I'd recommend comparing the course content at the uni's you want to study and comparing them to the D1 syllabus. If there's a lot of overlap, great. Otherwise, I think all three units are ok enough to learn quickly when you need to, and I doubt they'd assume any prior knowledge of anything unless they've specified that already.

ReputationRep:
    Probably S1, stats is pretty important to CS. Also, D1 is (apparently) very easy and quick to self teach so could be done at a later date. I hated S1 but it's been really useful to me in physics (coursework) and it's knowledge that I think everyone should really have. Whereas with D1 they'll almost certainly teach you the material during the degree.

ReputationRep:
    If you're doing physics and maths anyway then M1 won't feel very hard at all. Possibly to the point of not really being worth it (if you're good at maths and physics already, otherwise take it to back them up).