Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my first year of uni studying physics and I've been struggling with my mental health since the end of October/ start of November. I fell behind in my work so I went to the student support people, while I was there they put me on the phone to a counselor who told me that she would email me an appointment time that day for the following day but she never emailed me back. This was last year so since then I've applied for an appointment through the online form that they have but again I've not heard anything back from them and its been almost two months

..so now I have got to the point where I think its too late to catch up and I don't think I will pass my first year. I have two lab reports that were due in November which I haven't handed in and I have a computational lab report due in a couple of days, while I also had a maths exam in early January where I could only answer one question and hadn't slept for over two days when I took it. I've honestly been really unwell and I've been trying to get help from the uni services but no one has replied.

I was wondering if people are able to defer their first year once they've started? I know I'll need to justify why I want to which I'm a bit apprehensive about because I've been unable to get any replies back from the people who are suppose to be here to help and I need a third party to confirm that I have a legit reason. Has anyone done this before? and also was it difficult to get the go ahead to defer?

ReputationRep: