Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm usually an A/A* grade student but since I've gotten to University I have had very little motivation to study. I'm studying Petroleum Engineering. It's a cross between chemical engineering and geology. I studied Chemistry, Maths and Physics at A-levels.
    Ever since I've come to university I feel less smart and I'm not making wise decisions. I'm leaving it too late to revise for exams and end up cramming and hence getting really bad grades. I'm in my second year and I just finished my first semester exams which I am not optimistic about. My overall is probably around 55% and I think if I end up anywhere less than 65% I have wasted my time at university.

I'm think of failing the second semester on purpose to retake the year so that I can get a grade that accurately represents my capabilities.

My course requires me to do a lot of coursework and I've never done it before since University and a lot of my coursework grades are low. (essays, pop quizzes, presentations, etc.) But what's more surprising is that I'm not doing well in exams. My first semester in year one I got an average of about 61 which I thought at the time was atrocious. Since then I've been getting worse and could only dream of getting that grade now.

Does anyone know what reasons there could be or any tips to strategies to keep in focus and to make sure I get the required grades because right now I'm not sure what it's down to and this is totally out of character and I don't feel like myself when I underachieve like this.

ReputationRep: