Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I have suffered from depression for about 10 years, but have tried to keep it under control through medication, keeping busy, etc. However lately, it has just got worse and I find myself not willing to do anything in life anymore- I sleep until 2pm most days and spend the rest of my day in my PJs.

The main cause is I feel like a failure. I have no job and I can't see any way of my being successful in life. Like many, I spent £thousands on University, only to find that once I graduated, no one cared about degrees anymore. I was told I had to get some 'skills' so I did- I went and spent 4K of my savings on a NCTJ journalism course, because everyone told me it would give me a 'wide range of skills and get my employed.'

It's true, I know have a wide range of skills- shorthand, law, reporting....but still no one will hire me.

Currently I work 7 hours per week stacking shelves in a shop. It's been good over the years for a bit of funny, but now I feel like a failure. My dad isn't helping- he keeps telling me to go and get a job, but he doesn't realise how hard it is. He told me to get a full time job stacking shelves.... he doesn't realise how bad that makes me feel after I have tried so hard to make something of myself.

People tell me to move to London, but I really don't want to rent a house with strangers, it is so out of my comfort zone. When I am at home I like to be on my own. Also, after rent and bills I would probably not have any money left over at the end.

I guess I want some advise here. I don't know what to do anymore. I have tried all I can, but I'm slowly giving up. All my money right now is going on driving lessons so I can improve my prospects, but I hardly have any motivation in life. I just want to sleep, all the time, and I no longer care about being a person.

ReputationRep: