Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

babysitting - was i ripped off? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    hi,
    last night was my first time babysitting, but i feel i might have been ripped off
    i am 17 years old and have no baby sitting qualifications, however am crb cheacked as i am a qualified cricket coach and badminton coach, and therefore do lots of wofk with children. i was asked at 5:45 if i could baby sit for my neibourghs that night at 8:30 - 10:30, so quite last minute, but i was free so did. they got home at 10:15 but i had made time to stay till later. i havent spocken to them before and dont know them, so it wasnt a favour, defo a job.

they had a 7 year old boy who was but to bed as i got there, a 10 year old girl who i had to put to bed an hour later and a 12 year old girl who would stay up till they got back. as well as a dog i had to keep an eye on.

they were all a nightmare, and kept throwing stuff at me and refusing to go to bed. but i kept putting the boy to bed and got the girl in bed only 10 mins late. and i had to deal with the boy picking his scab on his head and it bleeding. "i was the worst babysitter ever" in his words, but really i could just tell that he was lying having had lots of experience with bratty kids through coaching, so he was anoyed. at one point i stopped the girl from doing somethign (cant remember what tho) and she said "ok, your good, i will give you that" since i had seen through her lie and tricked her to bed. -after several hissy fits.

i got paid £7.50 for the night. which is a nice amount and would do it again for that (considering my previous job at a pub), but i cant help feeling that its not enough, (and we agreed before hand £7.50 an hour, but they were not english so put this down to a missunderstanding). there was a lot more responsability than my pub job, and i didnt know these kids (or there names until i asked them!!!!)