Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Differential equations with rectilinear motion watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying Mechanical Engineering 1st year, however, I feel this problem falls into Physics/Maths also. The following question is in "Engineering Mechanics, Dynamics, 6th Edition", by "J. L. Mriam and L. G. Kraige", page 29 but here are pictures:

The question:
    Spoiler:
    Show

The soltuion:
    Spoiler:
    Show

The question is with regards to the integration of the equation which is next to the number 2. This is ds/(sqrt(v^2-(k^2*s^2))). I do not understand how this then equals 1/k(*(sin^-1(ks/v))).

Appreciate any help.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by No-Idea.)
    It's integrated using a trigonometric substitution. It's in the form \sqrt{a^2 - b^2x^2}, so we look for a substitution that would cancel this down to a single term. I.e, if you subbed in some form of sin\theta, and use the identity 1 - sin^2\theta = cos^2\theta.

Click the spoiler for the full working. I wouldn't usually do this, but it's a common integral that you'll learn to know by heart, and the maths is slightly tricky.

Spoiler:
    Show

\displaystyle \int \dfrac{ds}{\sqrt{v_0^2 - k^2s^2}}

Let s = \dfrac{v_0}{k}sin\theta

\dfrac{ds}{d\theta} = \dfrac{v_0}{k}cos\theta \, \, \, \, \Rightarrow \, \, \, ds = \dfrac{v_0}{k}cos\theta d\theta

= \displaystyle \dfrac{v_0}{k} \int \dfrac{cos\theta}{\sqrt{v_0^2 - v_0^2sin^2\theta}}\, d\theta

= \displaystyle \dfrac{1}{k} \int \dfrac{cos\theta}{cos\theta}\, d\theta ---> Taken a factor of v_0 out the root, and cancelled it with the \dfrac{v_0}{k}. Used the identity 1 - sin^2\theta = cos^2\theta

= \displaystyle \dfrac{1}{k} \int 1 \, d\theta

= \displaystyle \dfrac{1}{k}(\theta) ---> Using the initial substitution. \theta = sin^{-1}\left(\dfrac{ks}{v_0}\right)

= \dfrac{1}{k}sin^{-1}\left(\dfrac{ks}{v_0}\right)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Phichi)