Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm so I'm an awful driver
    I've had 38 lessons and they're needed
    It has taken me so long to build my confidence up and only over the last 4 weeks or so have I felt like I can give this test my best shot, feeling ready

And then on Wednesday 21st lesson my confidence hit rock bottom

Along a dual carriageway I had a lorry right up close making me uneasy
    I then had red lights so changed down the gears and bought one up too quick and stalled
    lorry driver emergency stopped as did several cars behind
    I then panicked and was shaking meanwhile lorry driver sits there happily tooting away
    after 5 minutes or so I move off and go round a roundabout take a left turn and pull up
    cry my eyes out for a solid 10 minutes
    SO embarrassing in front of my instructor
    I try to carry on but I just can't and he takes me home with a mix of anger fear anxiety

I'm now at Sunday and couldn't dread Wednesdays lesson more. My test is on the 5th February and I don't think I can do it
    I keep on having flash backs and feel like I'm starting all over again I am so nervous

Some of you may say talk to your instructor
    he said its your decision
    but I don't know I need advice

The local centre for tests has a 4 month wait which is June AKA exams

ReputationRep:
    Brakes are for slowing, gears are for going. Changing down gears in response to a red light was catastrophic and you paid dearly. Only go near the gearstick when you've reached the minimum speed.

It's like the toddler who burns herself on the oven for the first time. It's a horrible experience but it's something - that evolutionary instinct - that prevents you from making the same mistake again.