Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey!

So I began IB1 a few months back, and it's been pretty challenging. Unfortunately, the standards we have in our school are either messed up or non-existent, so I'd like to find out a bit on how to judge my actual grades to see how worried I should be.

I'm a Science Stream student, taking Chemistry, Physics, and English A HL, with Math, World Religions, and Arabic A SL. My average for the first semester was a 36/42, with a 6 in every subject barring a 7 in World Religions and a 5 in Chemistry. Fortunately though, my total during the second examination this semester was a 40, with 7's in everything but a 5 in Chemistry. Our mid-terms, however, ended up with me getting a 35/42 with two 5's in Chem and Physics (Which were only 2-3 points away from a 6).

I understand that it's not terrible, but I know they're not perfect. I want to know how colleges will look at junior grades. Are they held to a higher standard than the Externals? I spent most of my time in an IG-ish system, so I have trouble understanding how the grades are judged. A '5' is rated by the IBO as 'good', but my teachers tell me that it's not so great. Some students, however, tell me that it's not bad. My counsellor refuses to answer my question unless I specify which college's perspective I'm looking at them from. So, judging from your own personal perspective, what would be considered good for you?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    I believe that a 6 in HL Chemistry would suffice for all universities. However, if you're planning to study anything related to Chemistry at university, you most likely are going to need to pull your weight as the majority look for at least a 6 in HL Chemistry if willing to take on any Chemistry related courses such as Medicine or Engineering.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Medukal)