Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm new to TSR and was just looking for some advice on which IB subjects to take. I am currently in year 11 and will be sitting my GCSE's this summer.
    Having just finished my mocks, I am predicted straight A*s in English Lang and Lit, Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, French, History, Latin and Ancient Greek.

At the moment, I am considering the following subjects:

English (HL)
    Maths (SL)
    Biology (SL)
    History (HL)
    French (HL or SL)
    Global politics (HL or SL)
    Latin (SL or HL)

I was just wondering if anyone could give me guidance on which subjects and levels would be best, bearing in mind that I am considering studying History, Politics or English at university, ideally Oxbridge and possibly in the US.

Thank you for any help you can give!

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I'd recommend you take:

History HL
    Global Politics HL
    English HL
    French SL
    Biology SL
    Math SL

These subjects aren't that hard to score 7s in and are also highly esteemed.

Wish you all the best!

ReputationRep:
    I would recommend:

Group 1 - English HL
    Group 2 - Latin/French HL
    Group 3 - History HL
    Group 4 - SL Maths
    Group 5 - SL Biology
    Group 6/Electives - SL Global Politics

For Oxbridge, doing HL Global Politics will not get you far because it is considered a soft subject so I recommend you do it as an SL subject.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Akbar1)
    I would recommend:

Group 1 - English HL
    Group 2 - Latin/French HL
    Group 3 - History HL
    Group 4 - SL Maths
    Group 5 - SL Biology
    Group 6/Electives - SL Global Politics

For Oxbridge, doing HL Global Politics will not get you far because it is considered a soft subject so I recommend you do it as an SL subject.