The Student Room Group

Offer for law :/

I'm an international student and have an offer from Bristol for law. Although still waiting for decision from my 2 choices. Being an international student, my father does not allow me to go forward with this because there's no certainty of me getting a job after the course in the UK or getting a PR later as immigration laws are strict. How do I convince him for the same?
Original post by Anonymous
I'm an international student and have an offer from Bristol for law. Although still waiting for decision from my 2 choices. Being an international student, my father does not allow me to go forward with this because there's no certainty of me getting a job after the course in the UK or getting a PR later as immigration laws are strict. How do I convince him for the same?

First of all, congratulations on your offer! :smile: I'm an international student studying law at Bristol, and my parents had similar concerns over the process of my application. Your dad is right about the possibility of not getting a job here (although you have no less chance than UK students if you do well in your course), so you ought to have a Plan B in case things don't work out. Mine is going back to my country of origin and taking the conversion course to qualify as a lawyer there. Also, many foreign law graduates work as a consultant for international firms in my country, so I don't even have to do the conversion course. Maybe look into those possibilities and present a solid Plan B to your dad? Where are you from, if you don't mind me asking? :smile:

Besides, a law degree is incredibly versatile in terms of job prospects. You don't have to restrict yourself to the legal sector; finance and education are two other areas worth looking into.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Ratach