Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently in my first year of IB doing Italian ab initio. Up until doing this course I'd never studied a language so although I'm finding it challenging I'm also really enjoying it. My question is: what sort of standard do you get up to in an IB ab initio language? For example would I have enough of a grasp of the language to be able to go to Italy as an au pair this summer (after only studying Italian for one year)? Would it be possible to study Italian at university (perhaps as part of a Major/Minor degree?). I'd be interested in anyones experience with an ab initio language. TIA

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by awkwardgal)
    I'm currently in my first year of IB doing Italian ab initio. Up until doing this course I'd never studied a language so although I'm finding it challenging I'm also really enjoying it. My question is: what sort of standard do you get up to in an IB ab initio language? For example would I have enough of a grasp of the language to be able to go to Italy as an au pair this summer (after only studying Italian for one year)? Would it be possible to study Italian at university (perhaps as part of a Major/Minor degree?). I'd be interested in anyones experience with an ab initio language. TIA
    You definitely won't be a fluent speaker by the end of the course but my teacher says you will be if you continue to learn the language for another 1.5-2 years (if you're a fast learner). Eh, It'd be pretty hard to learn a lot of oral this year but I don't know - ask your teacher? Yes, you definitely can study Italian at university (and major or minor in it) but this only applies to American universities - not sure about other country's universities - you can take a placement test to place into a class that is at your level.

• See more of what you like on The Student Room