Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I don't want to come of as thinking I'm better than anyone else or be seeming to be hating on other people but where is the difficulty in some courses at university etc. Like if someone takes maths, engineering, physics, computer science etc then I think they have to put in effort or be really smart to do well and people that go further and develop new ideas that shape our world. But then you have people doing these subjects and doing phd's that just sound made up which just seem to be far too easy and of no help to anyone or anything.

I'm finding it hard to put across what I'm saying but maybe someone else could phrase it better.

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying Further Maths, Physics and Drama/Theatre Studies as my three A-levels and I can wholeheartedly state that the latter of those is by far the most challenging for me.

These 'soft' subjects are slammed for being 'easy' as opposed to STEM subjects, but it's completely subjective. You can find solving equations easy but writing creative essays difficult, or vice versa. No subject is fundamentally 'easier' than any others.

ReputationRep:
    Very few degrees are easy. I'm doing a degree in Philosophy and Theology, and you'd probably think it an easy, useless degree. It's actually ridiculously complicated, and very difficult to adequately understand (regardless of whether you disagree with different aspects of it).

Different degrees of course have different levels of utility with regards to the 'real world', but that's only one way of judging a field of study. Many people do degrees because they enjoy learning about different areas of life, and the acquisition of knowledge is its own reward.

ReputationRep:
    What degrees are you actually referring to?

ReputationRep: