Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

I am really interested in taking Computer Science but I am not sure if I will have enough to get into the course.

I currently study at AS - Level:

Physics, Chemistry, Further Maths and Graphic Design.

After some research into the topic I have noticed there was an A-Level course availably which I did not have the option to take.

Could someone please explain to me if I have a chance of getting onto the course even though I have very little coding knowledge?

ReputationRep:
    Have a look on different univeristy entry levels but a friend of mine is off to do computer science without a computer science a level, but you need to show some sort of interest so maybe read a good book on it.

ReputationRep:
    I am currently trying to learn the basics on some languages through code academy. I plan on becoming quiet efficient over the next year and maybe make a little game or application or something

Thanks for the reply!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SamBallard)
    I am currently trying to learn the basics on some languages through code academy. I plan on becoming quiet efficient over the next year and maybe make a little game or application or something

Thanks for the reply!
    It sounds great having further maths is a good thing as well... also you could try getting a thing called a raspberry pi thing they are great for learning things like this and you can design a game or code on it... they're not expensive either. My advice hopefully it helps

ReputationRep:
    Goodness me, you can get into this course by doing only Social Sciences at A level. Of course you stand a chance with your A levels.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Raymat)
    Goodness me, you can get into this course by doing only Social Sciences at A level. Of course you stand a chance with your A levels.
    Depends on the uni, nowhere I'd consider good for CS would let you in with that.