Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm an AS Student who is really struggling with C1, we have finished all of C1 itself and I'm still getting U's We've done 3 formal assessments and I got a U then B then a U... This last U was in June 2014 paper, I got 31/75 :| I just found it so hard. I need help to improve but I dont know how, I have gone through the entire C1 book and done all the examples and looking at online tutorials etc but nothing is working... My homework is good though which is what I dont get... I done the January 2006 past paper and got 72/75 yet I cannot complete formal assessment to the same standard, its getting really frustrating now!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lolpalolpalol)
    I'm an AS Student who is really struggling with C1, we have finished all of C1 itself and I'm still getting U's We've done 3 formal assessments and I got a U then B then a U... This last U was in June 2014 paper, I got 31/75 :| I just found it so hard. I need help to improve but I dont know how, I have gone through the entire C1 book and done all the examples and looking at online tutorials etc but nothing is working... My homework is good though which is what I dont get... I done the January 2006 past paper and got 72/75 yet I cannot complete formal assessment to the same standard, its getting really frustrating now!
    This inconsistency is probably the result of silly mistakes and lack of deeper understanding, or practice of exam style questions. Try to ensure you understand why the maths works in C1. 95% of C1 is plug and chug, but it can't not help to understand it at something more than a superficial level.

When revising the material, learn it as if you had to teach it to someone else. Imagine the questions they could ask 'Why does this work'? being the one you should ask about everything.

ReputationRep:
    Don't repeat until you've done all upto fp3 and c4. Then you'll understand c1