Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    First off, I'm really sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong section. Mods can feel free to move this thread wherever they think it belongs.

Okay, so I really need some helpful advice. I'm a third year student at the University of Toronto. My first two years were decent in terms of grades, I scored 70-80% in most of my classes. I know it's not incredible but I was content.

Well, everything started to go horribly wrong this summer. I started developing horrible compulsive thoughts. For instance, I would believe that I had oral cancer and I'd take a hundred photos of the inside of my mouth every single day.

When I have these thoughts, they take up my entire focus.

I plan to see a psychiatrist very soon because I believe I have a case of serious case of OCD that is just getting worse and worse.

I've never had to meet with my University registrar before but I plan to see him soon to explain my situation. How can I get him to understand that these compulsive thoughts are a serious hindrance towards my academic success? I want him to see that this is a REAL academic disability. I don't want him to have this idea that I am looking for a free-pass or something because I'm "just lazy." I don't know how University registrars view mental disorders or how seriously they take them.

Is there any way to get money back for this semester if I can convince the registrar that the reason I did so poorly and missed all my classes is because of a serious debilitating mental disorder?

And keep in mind, I plan to take my treatment very seriously.

ReputationRep:
    See the doctor/psychiatrist first they will be able to back up your point that you have a something wrong, then see your registar, good luck

ReputationRep: