Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm making my uni course choices, and have heard that a lot of people say that doing law at uni is incredibly boring, has anyone had any experience of this either for or against this claim?

ReputationRep:
    I found the core modules that you have to study on a qualifying law degree incredibly dull. Land law, equity and trusts, contract, public/constitutional, EU law, all made me want to stick a fork in my eye just for some relief from the tedium.

When you get to pick your own modules it gets better though.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a third year law student (going onto an International Law Masters later this year) and it really depends on what you like.
    I know plenty of people who find land and equity & trusts very interesting because it clicks with them. For me, I like International, Intelligence & Security and EU Law.
    That being said, there are obviously similar factors in each. If you can't process masses of info for an essay or can't focus on a one hour lecture then it might not be the course for you. I'm at Lincoln and we have one lecture and one seminar a week. So basically the scene is set in the lecture, we go away and do our seminar questions and reading, go to the seminar and discuss.
    I like it because I'm perfectly happy to read at home and show up to voice my opinions. It is a hard slog through some topics though!

At the end of the day, it is a book heavy course with many required topics that can be technical and horrifically boring. But that is my opinion! Some topics are really eye opening too like Human Rights and Police Powers.

I hope this helps. If you have any questions feel free to ask.

ReputationRep: