efarah1992
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Help! I have finally figured out that what I want to do is become a history teacher at secondary level but I have a law degree! I got a high 2:1 in Law but will I be allowed to become a History teacher with this? Will I be accepted onto a course?

I did do a year of History at Queen Mary University and got a high 2:2 but changed in a panic to be closer to home/fees ... (biggest mistake of my life!)

Any advice? Can it be done?

Thanks everyone!
SpenceHarris1589
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by efarah1992)
Help! I have finally figured out that what I want to do is become a history teacher at secondary level but I have a law degree! I got a high 2:1 in Law but will I be allowed to become a History teacher with this? Will I be accepted onto a course?

I did do a year of History at Queen Mary University and got a high 2:2 but changed in a panic to be closer to home/fees ... (biggest mistake of my life!)

Any advice? Can it be done?

Thanks everyone!
Worth contacting the admissions tutors in advance, but I'll warn from experience of applying around 2 weeks ago, most places on University courses are for waiting lists or they have closed (I have a first in history and politics from Uni of Sheffield, a Research masters in British History from Uni of Birmingham, and Uni of Notts only offered me a place on the reserve list as that is all they have left). But if you have schools experience, teach direct places are available and still opening so could work for you. Alternatively, you consider social science, law or citizenship PGCE and get into teaching history after your NQT year. Let me know if you have any questions
c_k62
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
my history teacher has a law degree

Posted from TSR Mobile
Vicky_B_10
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago