What finance is avaliable for me to leave home

Watch
Rdean
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I am studying A Levels and hoping to go to uni next year, however, I want to leave home ASAP. I have a part time job (weekends) and a car to run. There is no way I can afford to move out I can barely afford to run my car due to the high insurance prices. So what funding would be avaliable for me to do this? Thanks!
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
You can use this calculator to get an estimate of how much funding you'll get when you go to uni:

https://www.gov.uk/student-finance-calculator

Beware that it isn't intended to cover all of your uni costs - it's meant to be a contribution towards them. Your parents will be expected to make a contribution as well.

As a guide, most students can't afford to own/run a car. In addition, many unis don't have student parking on campus or at halls unless you have a blue badge. Check that out with the unis you apply to, if you're sure you want to take it with you.
Tiger Rag
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
There's nothing for A Level students. Unless you have a child or a disability.
fluffyowl
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Klix88)
As a guide, most students can't afford to own/run a car. In addition, many unis don't have student parking on campus or at halls unless you have a blue badge. Check that out with the unis you apply to, if you're sure you want to take it with you.
I had no problems running a car while I was at uni. I worked part time during term time and full time during the holidays though. I didn't have my car at uni in my first year but I did in subsequent years.
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by fluffyowl)
I had no problems running a car while I was at uni. I worked part time during term time and full time during the holidays though. I didn't have my car at uni in my first year but I did in subsequent years.
Hence I said "most students"